Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Universidade Nova de LisboaThe Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Nova) is the most recent public university within the Lisbon metropolitan area. The school was founded in 1973 as a response to an ever-increasing demand for higher education in the region as well as an overarching goal to expand and diversify Portugal’s public university system.

nova-map_200x429.jpgDuring its first years, Nova focused on an agenda of only graduate and specialist programs, but since 1977, it has been steadily expanding its offerings.

Nova is not confined to a single campus; it has five faculties and four university institutes that are located in and around Lisbon. The university’s decentralized nature has given its faculties and institutes a great deal of autonomy. The university is now home to 46 different scientific research centers, 40 of which are financed by Portugal’s Foundation for Science and Technology.

As a result of the university’s four main strategic pillars—Internationalization, Dimension/Growth, Innovation/Pioneering and Excellence—the university has grown to over 14,000 students, 1,500 faculty members, and 800 employees. Another consequence of these strategic pillars has been the recent attention the university has gained as a result of its cooperation with other universities in the Americas, Africa and Europe. This effort to share and learn from other institutions has created a unique, but diversified identity for the university.

For more information about the university please visit its website.